Tuesday, May 7, 2013

May 7: Indiana Territory is Formed

On this date in History ... .1800:  

A bill is passed to divide the Northwest Territory and the Indiana Territory is created. The capital was Vincennes, the oldest settlement in Indiana territory, and William Henry Harrison, who would become the 9th President of the United States, was made governor of the Territory. 

After Ohio, Michigan and Illinois were formed   (in 1803, 1805, and 1809), various areas in Indiana, particularly those near the Michigan line and in Wayne County, by the Ohio line, wrote to the government protested the distance of Vincennes from the rest of the people which made it difficult to conduct business with travel times so far.  

In 1813, the capital was moved to Corydon, then in 1820, was moved to centrally located Indianapolis. 

No comments:

Post a Comment